Malwarebytes Review

Malwarebytes, as you can probably guess from it’s name, is a tool that concentrates on the removal of malware. This differs from all the other companies we review as it’s not a full anti-virus package and so lacks some of the features that you usually get from a package like Total AV or McAfee. Do you need a full package though?

Malwarebytes Review

Compatibility

Windows
Apple Mac
Linux

Reliability and Security

Malwarebytes is definitely one of the top-rated anti-malware tools out there. As the name suggests it’s an anti-malware tool but it also deals with spyware, adware, trojans – you name it! It’s a very basic program and therefore doesn’t have a lot of features to trip over on and so you’d expect great reliability and that’s what you get!

Removes Malware
Removes Malware

Detects and removes malicous software on your computer like viruses, adware or spyware.

Removes Spyware
Removes Spyware

Spyware secretly monitors what you do on your computer. Its aim is usually to capture passwords, banking credentials and credit card details.

Web Protection
Web Protection

Detect which websites are safe and can be trusted. Block malware websites and downloads.

Removes Adware
Removes Adware

Adware is malicous software that automatically displays or downloads advertising material such as banners or pop-ups.

Scheduled Scans
Scheduled Scans

Set your own scheduled for system antivirus scans including what locations to scan.

- 99.20%

Features

We’ve made it clear that the software isn’t a full anti-virus package and so you can’t expect a whole host of features, can you? If you are after a quality, reliable virus removal tool then this could very well be the one! It’s very good at doing what it’s been designed for.

Value For Money

Malwarebytes tend to push their free software but this is fairly limited and we feel it’s only good for a one-time scan. There are no virus preventative features in the free version. Upgrading to their paid version will cost you £34.99 but enables real-time scanning, scan scheduling and flash memory scanning. Even though it’s one of the best malware removal tools on the market, you’re paying a lot for a very basic program.

Support and Customer Service

To be honest there’s not a lot of support in terms of talking to someone but they do offer support in the form of FAQs, How to guides and videos and also email/ticketing support. The software is very simple so we hope the end-user shouldn’t run into many issues.

Customer Reviews For Malwarebytes

Lewis R. Keith - 16/03/2019

Please cease any and all notices on my PC for free or paid premium Malware Bytes upgrades. I am aggravated by the seemingly constant interruption with on my screen of your services! Thank you for your cooperation as of immediately! Thank you!

Mr Doo - 09/03/2019

its great.. but i always have more than one antivirus on my laptop anyway...

John - 12/02/2019

WAS A GREAT PROGRAM....Had it for years with lifetime license, log on this morning and it's back to trialware and I go to website to get my registration info and find out that it's now 59.99 a year to keep it registered and my lifetime license is now invalid? Well bye-bye Malwarebytes, not worth 59.99 a year and I'll find another solution that is FREE, just lost another customer ....great business model morons.

Christine Chamberlin - 30/01/2019

It seems to do a great job! Very happy with it. However I can`t afford to buy it as someone else has stated it`s way to much money. And if you get all the things you need for your computer, all the different things that you need to buy to stay safe. Dang it would cost you more than your computer did and even more so if you have more than 1 computer. SAD!

fake comments - 04/08/2017

these comments are fake, Malwarebytes is the best

Steven Denger - 25/07/2017

I had used Malwarebytes for a few years but since the 3 version, I all of sudden cannot open it up to check to see if it still scanning and working. The support sucks and it took them days to get back. They gave me a download link and said to reactivate another version. But their download would no open up - I got an error popup window. I will be finishing out my subscription and never consider using them again. Save yourself headaches and do not use this service.

Gene - 01/07/2017

I am surprised at some of these reviews. I had a troublesome adware such that when I closed the add (X) another add would immediately appear and when I closed it another ad appeared etc. I tried AV Norton and it did not remove the adware, I removed Norton ( quite a task) and used Mcgaffee same result and removed it , then I tried Kaspersky AV and got the same results . I removed Kaspersky and tried yet another top AV (all these were paid AV programs) I even found the adware program in my program listing in the control panel and the MS delete function did not could not /would not delete it even Windows defender did not keep it out, discover it nor remove it . , I tried AND FOUND A Win 8 software suggestions for malewarebytes and Malwarebytes is the only program that removed the adware . So yes it is limited, and it is not an AV program but it worked great on adware and trojans when the major top AV programs did not find nor remove them and Malwarebytes is well worth the price. I also ran a comparison between bitdefender and that comparison put maleware Bytes as the better of the two. I also use it with win 10 pro and again find it finds and deletes things that got past MS Defender and Kaspersky . I use it on occasion if and when I have some problem on my pc.

Len - 29/06/2017

I agree with you John. Used prog for several years and very happy. However, recently advised of update which I downloaded and which gave immediate problems; the prog wouldn't open! I deleted what I had and found my way here. The Malware website gives the opportunity to download a free copy of the prog but you have to be aware that you must deactivate premium trial ( from within settings ) in order to continue with the use of the free prog. From you comments I think you have been treated appallingly; I'm afraid it's another case of ' let's get as much income as we can, let's scare our customers and sod it if they don't like it '. Malware could be very ( much more ) profitable if it had a good Product Manager in charge! I'm in the UK and a member of Which magazine which has, in the past, extolled the virtues of Malwarebytes; I shall be reporting to them about this latest unsatisfactory development with this so called " Freeware " offer.

Mike Cole - 23/06/2017

I've had the Lifetime 'PRO' subscription for ... EVER. As noted by others, when 3.0 came out ... GLITCHES. But that's in the past now .... all good now. No doo doo has EVER infected my PC's. Catches EVERYTHING .... puts my 'miniscule' mind at ease.

Charles R. Wilkes - 07/06/2017

No customer service; Period.........